Author Birdwatching: Previous Topic High Island...the funnel Next Topic  

cajungal
outthinking

8 Posts

Catherine
Houston Area Texas
8 Posts

Posted - Feb 05 2008 :  04:58:37 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey y'all! I'm new here. Our family loves birdwatching. We started out when the girls were young.....under 5 yrs old. It was more out of equipping the girls with observation skills and sitting still skills than actual birdwatching. We're kinda' self-taught....spot a bird, look it up in the book, mark the date and place.

Our kitchen has a huge bay window that spans from floor to ceiling and overlooks a garden that attracts a myriad of birds, butterflies and bugs. We would sit at the window and be very still waiting for something to come by for a visit. Being still and quiet was a challenge at first but now my girls are able to sit in bushes for hours waiting for a visitor. They've also become quite skilled in sketching and drawing.

Now, for my title High Island....funnel. If you look on a map you'll see High Island, Texas to the east of Galveston. It sits at the base of the Bolivar Peninsula. Tiny little town....the whole school K - 12 probably has less than 100 students. It is an amazing place to observe. There are 4 birding parks in this 2 mile by 2 mile town and only one very small convenient store....have to travel 20 minutes to get to a "real grocery" store.

Over 300 species leave by way of this "door" and come back months later during their migrations. It is amazing! During peak time cars will be parked up and down the farm road for miles. People from all over the world visit High Island.